top of page

Welcome Back from Fall Break

Hello Team Moore,

I hope you've all had a great Fall Break! I am looking forward to seeing all of my kiddos tomorrow!

If you child participated in the optional Fall Break Reading Challenge that went home on Friday before the break, please remind them that it is due tomorrow. I can't wait to see the fall scenes that they have created.

DON'T FORGET: Conference Week is just around the corner. Thursday, before the break, I sent home yellow conference forms with dates and times for your child. Many of you have already returned those (thank you!), but if you haven't please be sure to do so ASAP. The sooner I get those back, the sooner I can make any adjustments that may be needed, especially if there are other siblings to consider. Remember, some teachers will be sending their conference letters home tomorrow, so if you have multiple children in the house, don't worry if you haven't received a letter about their conference date and time yet.

This week I will be introducing multiplication to the students. We will be doing some fun activities throughout the week to introduce the topic. A lot of these activities are going to be hands-on, a couple of which will include food. I am going to list the food items that will be used in a couple of the activities. Please look at the list of items and let me know if your child cannot eat or use it as a manipulative due to allergy concerns ASAP so that I can make adjustments for that child. Here are the items that will be used:

  • graham crackers

  • vanilla frosting

  • M&M's

  • candy corn

Also, regarding multiplication, one of our third grade standards is for students to fluently multiply and divide within 100 by memory. We will begin practicing our multiplication facts and taking timed tests within the next week or so. I will provide each student with paper flashcards in class, but for home practice you may want to consider getting some flashcards for your student as well. You can also print free flashcards using this link: https://www.multiplication.com/resources/free-multiplication-flash-cards. Students will be keeping track of the facts that they master in their binders. Each time they pass a fact, they will move on to the next and receive a new set of flashcards to keep in class to practice with.

October is going to be a busy month, so please be sure to look at your child's agenda each week, as well as any emails and Class Dojo messages that are sent out. I will also post any emails/Class Dojo messages to my blog, which can be accessed through our school website at www.lewislions.org.

Once again, thank you for your continued support.

-Miss Moore


Recent Posts
bottom of page